Inter-University Doctoral Consortium

The Inter-University Doctoral Consortium is open to doctoral students from participating schools who have completed at least one year of full-time study toward the Ph.D. The Consortium accommodates students only in the arts and sciences and in the field of education. Students may, with the required permissions, attend courses at any other participating school as part of their home school registration.

Participating schools are:

  • Columbia University, GSAS
  • CUNY Graduate Center
  • Fordham University GSAS
  • Graduate Faculty, New School University
  • New York University, GSAS
  • Princeton University-The Graduate School
  • Rutgers University, School of Graduate Studies (SGS)
  • Stony Brook University
  • Teachers College, Columbia University

How to Enroll

Students enroll using the consortium form and follow its directions. (For Princeton, please use this form.) Students register at their home institutions and tuition charges are applied at the home institution. Students are governed by the academic policies of the host institution while attending a course, except that Rutgers students receiving the grade of incomplete have only one year to complete the course, regardless of the incomplete rule at the host institution. The one-year rule also applies to visiting students from other member institutions. (Please read the specific instructions for Columbia University.)

Forms for students who wish to take courses at:

Students from other schools may view the current schedule of classes for the School of Graduate Studies online. Information on these courses may be found in our catalog.